Ammunition shortage

Discussion in 'Shooting & Fireams Training / Skills' started by KMCMICHAEL, Nov 10, 2020.

1. KMCMICHAEL

KMCMICHAEL Member

Going long range shooting with my son for Veterans Day. Went to Bass Pro to get some 6.5 Creedmoor. None on the shelf. I noticed a bunch of people in a line. Turns out they were waiting for ammo that gets delivered each day. Some had been there for hours. I am thinking what else I can shoot and the line starts to move. I lucked out with 80 rounds. I don’t shoot Centerfire rifle much because my range is rimfire rifle only.
    I have not reloaded in 30 years but I am saving my brass now.
    The positive, I plan to shoot at least 1000 yards tomorrow. A first for me. 800 has been my max.

I hope this gets better. I’ve been shooting for over 50 years. I have slowed down but would hate to lose this.
    Eveery time there is ammo hoarding, I think those people will sell cheaply in a few months. It hasn’t happened.

How are ammo supplies on the other side of the pond?

2. Wisdom

Wisdom Member

I’ve seen it scarce, but this is by far the worst. Very little of any caliber for sale. What you can find is very expensive. $1.50 for 5.56 and 0.70 to a buck for 9mm. Hope it gets better, but I’m not expecting it to get better for many moons. The days of burning thru 600-700 rounds per range trip are over for awhile. My shooting partner and I have been working on low round count drills. Lots of reloads, malfunction drills, and movement to slow down ammo burn. I’ve been limiting rifle range time to 20rds per trip. Starting at a hundred and working to 1k in 100 yd increments. Hope you enjoy the 1000 yards. It is rewarding. If you can get away for a few days, km precision is an awesome range to train at. I don’t know another range to compare it to! Especially for long range.

RocketmanDane likes this.
  3. Theo

Theo Member

Times are tough and only getting tougher over the next few months.

RocketmanDane likes this.
  4. ASH

ASH Member