Rocketmandane’s 1st Attempt at Knife Making!

Discussion in 'DIY (Do It Yourself)' started by RocketmanDane, Aug 2, 2018.

1. RocketmanDane

RocketmanDane Member

I have been highly considering trying to make a file knife.

Has anyone done this?

Can this be done with basic hand tools?

I have ZERO knife making experience... Is this a good first knife project?

Here are some of my inspirations/ shapes I was thinking of below:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 5, 2018
    IW17, Zeek, Strigidae and 2 others like this.
  2. SEMO

SEMO Member

Southeast MO, Mississippi River Bottom flatland
    Zeek and RocketmanDane like this.
  3. RocketmanDane

RocketmanDane Member

Haven’t been able to dig a lot of my tools out in a while but I should still have.

Angle grinder
    Small bench grinder
    Files
    Hand drills
    Good drill bits
    Work bench
    Clamps
    Hand saws
    Jig saw
    Chisels
    Dremel
    Sanders electric and Hand but no belt sander thou
    Taps and dies
    Calipers

Most house hold repair tools
    Plenty of mechanic tools ( pretty sure that doesn’t matter)

I do not have a forge thou..

I do have a decent amount of machine shop experience it’s just been a few years and I mostly ran CNC’s, Lathes and Mills... Which I have none of now..

I was thinking of starting with a 1/4 inch piece.. Do you have a recommendation of where to find that? I don’t speak very good eBay.. I speak Amazon really well thou if you know of one there. But I can speak eBay if you would trust the source.

Zeek likes this.
  4. SEMO

SEMO Member

Looks like you have enough experience and tooling to make a superb knife.

I don’t know of anyone on amazon who sells steel. You can buy direct from the source...New Jersey steel baron. Shipping will kill you there on a small order.
    The price on that bar steel from eBay is right, especially considering shipping.

5. JollyRoger523

JollyRoger523 Member