Pistol Frame Stippling

Discussion in 'DIY (Do It Yourself)' started by the925life, Apr 3, 2020.

1. the925life

the925life Member

I used some of the COVID quarantine downtime to try my first pistol frame mods on a Gen4 G23 and Gen3 G26. Full stipples and trigger guard undercuts, plus finger groove removal on the 23 and mag baseplate for the 26. Turned out much better than I hoped.

I started by grinding off the finger grooves with a bastard file, but that was slow so I graduated up to a dremel. Trigger guard undercut was done with a pencil wrapped in sandpaper and a dremel to finish. Next step was knocking down the factory texture to make a blank slate for the stipple. Pattern is a north-south zigzag using a wedge tip.

One thing I learned as a right handed shooter with the mag release button on the left side, if you go too drastic on the trigger undercut your shoot hand middle finger will wrap around and rub against the corner of the mag release button, so I kept the cuts minimal enough just to get rid of any Glock knuckle problems. I also like that it retains the original lines of the frame and grip angle.

IMG_20191103_103138 (1).jpg IMG_20191103_103207 (1).jpg

G23 (1).jpg G23 (2).jpg G23 (3).jpg
    G26 (1).jpg G26 (2).jpg G26 (3).jpg G26 (4).jpg

Stray Round, CCMI, JV3 and 9 others like this.
  2. FAL'ER

FAL'ER Member

That looks real good. I got as far as grinding of the finger bump on my 27, never did stipple it.

The Marsh Gorilla likes this.
  3. Frigin

Frigin Member

@the925life
    That came out sweet man good job. I have he’d fun doing all the remotes in my house but haven’t done one of my guns yet. question on the undercut trigger guard. How did you get it back to looking like “stock finish” Or does in nit get that way again? Do you just finish with a fine sandpaper and it gets that way?

4. the925life

the925life Member