Made a leather axe cover for a CRKT Chogan Tomahawk

Discussion in 'DIY (Do It Yourself)' started by Bushcraft_Dave, Jul 24, 2018.

1. Bushcraft_Dave

Bushcraft_Dave Member

I'm a beginner and have really basic tools, lots of jerry-rigging going on over here! lol It's unrefined but it'll get the job done. I plan on investing on more tools and really get into leathercraft, its so relaxing and fun. If you guys have any leather tools you're not using, I'd like to see if we can do some trades?

My next project will be a leather dangler for the GB 6HM.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 24, 2018
    R Stowe, SEMO, Kaw-liga and 4 others like this.
  2. Mudman

Mudman Member

Nice work. It doesn't take much tools. Next thing I would recommend, is an edge beveler. You could also use sand paper. They don't cost too much and it's a good investment.

Kaw-liga and Bushcraft_Dave like this.
  3. Bushcraft_Dave

Bushcraft_Dave Member

That’s next on my list! Thanks for the tips brother!

4. Mudman

Mudman Member

No problem. What tools do you currently have?

It literally doesn't take much, Adventure Sworn showed some cool tips a while back. Where you can use a fork to lay out your stitch pattern, and a nail to make the holes. Let me see what I can dig up for extras, I know I can spare some thread and needles for sure.

Bushcraft_Dave likes this.
  5. Bushcraft_Dave

Bushcraft_Dave Member

Right now I have a hole puncher that creates huge holes and I have to saddle stitch the whole thing twice to give the stitches tension lol. But I really don’t mind, more quiet time for me! I really like the idea of using a fork for the stitch pattern.

I bought some needles at Hobby lobby but I don’t junk they’re big enough to use the standard wax cotton thread. I used a thin artificial sinew.

And I have a rotary cutter.

If you have any stuff for trade let me know! Thanks again for the tips. I once asked someone for advice and they told me just to go on YouTube!

6. Mudman