Girls in the Boy Scouts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by koolaidnd, Oct 11, 2017.

1. koolaidnd

koolaidnd Member

I’m excited that my little girl will get to join the organization that I spent the years from second grade until I graduated high school. I don’t give two craps that it was a boys only organization for years. My troop always had little sisters at events and camp. Never once was this a problem. I’d argue it helped the boys that didn’t have little sisters (like my brother and I) to help teach them to interact in a positive manner.

I have always had a low regard for the local Girl Scout units. They are widely considered a joke. My girl will be more then a cookie salesman.

Don’t crap up this thread and get it closed. Make it a good constructive discussion.

2. Bushman5

Bushman5 Member

I agree ! I attended Cubs , Scouts and Eagles as a little twerp. We always had girl scouts in the camps and activities. Non Issue as far as I'm concerned.

I can see as they get older there is possibility for boy/girl, etc friendships/hook ups , dating, but that is what proper supervision is for .

Zeitgeist and Dagwood like this.
  3. Bcamos

Bcamos Member

I was in the Boy Scouts for 1 day as a kid. I wasn't a fan of all the touching and hugging.

4. .357 mag

.357 mag Member

Not a fan but that's my option. My boys didn't make it long. Coloring pictures and making krafts fir the first 2-3 years wasn't for them.

Bcamos, timdgsr, dhunley1 and 2 others like this.
  5. Spikebot587

Spikebot587 Member

As an eagle scout myself I personally don't agree with the decision. I understa.d girls wanting to be involved with an outdoor oriented organization. Bit if that's the issue why not just wait till venture crew age? Or better yet change girl scouts to meet your needs. I don't see why an organization who's original goal was to raise and foster a new generation of men should allow female scouts into it's organization just because they feel left out.