Gas grills?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Scott Whittington, Oct 12, 2016.

1. Scott Whittington

Scott Whittington Member

I prefer to cook over coal or wood but we grill out 3-4 days a week and I typically do not have time to get the coals and wood set when I got hungry kids to feed. My Weber grill is on its last leg after 8 years of serious abuse and use. I am thinking about going with another Weber but figured I would ask what you guys like and have had great experience with?

Zeek likes this.
  2. artigas

artigas Member

We bought a Char Broil Tru Infrared this spring, and it's been great. It really does keep the meet juicy. There is a little more cleaning with the places under the grill grates, but it does an amazing job cooking. I feel like it doesn't use as much gas because it is more efficient.

I can see how a lot of people might not like the design, but we're glad we bought it. Also, I'm no grilling expert, be use it a lot.

http://www.charbroil.com/community/tru-infrared/

3. Scott Whittington

Scott Whittington Member

I have owned Char Broil Grills and I think the longest one has lasted me has been 2 years. They are great new but then fall apart quickly. At least that has been my experience. I have had 2 Webers and between the 2 I have gotten 15 years of a ton of grilling. That is the only reason I am leaning back toward Weber again. Although the Infrared grill does very much interest me.

Zeek likes this.
  4. timdgsr

timdgsr Member

Hard to go wrong with a weber.

I prefer the Q series if you don't have a huge bunch to cook for. The Q300(or whatever the 3 series number is at the moment) is great.

It has a low lid so it heats up super quick. All aluminum/stainless/plastic. The only part that requires maintenance is the cast iron grates after a few years once the ceramic wears off. Weber will even replace them for you. I just have two sets now and season one like a dutch oven while I'm using the other set.