7mm-08? Go!

Discussion in 'Shooting & Fireams Training / Skills' started by on edge, Aug 3, 2018.

1. on edge

on edge Member

I've got a buddy that offered to sell me his Remington Model 7 in 7mm-08. I have no experience with this round and just want to hear from people that have actually used it. Everything I've researched thus far has been pretty positive.

This will be a general purpose rifle so, groundhogs, coyote, deer and back 40 shooting matches with the guys. so good or bad lets hear it.

The Marsh Gorilla and koolaidnd like this.
  2. koolaidnd

koolaidnd Member

It’s a very good round. Lots of guys use it around here for deer hunting.

Buy it if the price is good.

The Marsh Gorilla likes this.
  3. on edge

on edge Member

It's a very fair price. I already have a friend trying to buy it from me and I haven't even taken possession of it yet!

4. koolaidnd

koolaidnd Member

It’s basicly a .308 with slightly less recoil and a little more speed IIRC.

5. Andy the Aussie

Andy the Aussie Administrator of the Century Staff Member

Yep, if I were shopping today it would be for a .260Rem but that is neck and neck with the 7/08 in many ways. It really is a round that you will need to handload for.

The Marsh Gorilla and Strigidae like this.
  6. on edge

on edge Member

I understand that all firearms can show a preference for ammo but, is there a "GOLD STANDARD" factory load for the round. Something like the Federal 168 gr. BTHP was/is for the .308?

7. Andy the Aussie

Not that I have ever heard of, 7.62, 5.56 the various new 6.5s and such get more attention and development from the ammunition makers due to their use by the Military and LE which generates more use (ie sales) by interested shooters. The 7/08 has never been such a round and the ammunition development has been limited to hunting rounds essentially. Even so Fed GMM actually patterns (as opposed to "Groups" ) in one of my rifles so as you note, there are just no givens.

8. on edge

on edge Member