Facts about black oxide/blued finishes?

Discussion in 'ESEE® Knives and Gear' started by CoolBreeze135, May 3, 2018.

1. CoolBreeze135

CoolBreeze135 Member

This topic stems from existing debate that people have been having on the internet about blued blades for food preparation. Some people are worried that a blued blade may not be safe to use on food, as it may impart some toxic particles. The same kind of scrutiny has been applied to the black oxide finish that ESEE (and others) are now using.

I'm a chemist, so this stuff has piqued my interest a bit. However, transition metal complexes (and their toxicities) are not my area of expertise. From what I know, the chemical composition of the black oxide on the surface of the steel is based on the type of process that is used to apply it. High-temperature processes oxidize iron to Fe3O4. This is essentially the same thing that happens when a carbon steel blade acquires a natural patina. The low-temperature industrial processes actually deposit a layer of a copper/selenium, which is an entirely different process.

I've seen/heard a lot of comments about these dark blade finishes and food, but I don't ever see definitive information. I cut up some potatoes with my PR4 the other day, and did notice that some of the black color rubbed onto the potatoes. My intuition is that it's no big deal, but I'm in search of some facts to back it up.

So, I'm curious how the black oxide finish is applied to ESEE knives? This is obviously a question for the bosses (@Jeff Randall?), but it's also an interesting point of discussion for us users. I think if we can demonstrate that the blackening process to make the black oxide finish is chemically identical to a natural patina, it will dispel the worries that some people have.