Stone's North Woods Adventures (SNWA)

Discussion in 'Adventure, Hiking, Backpacking and Travel' started by Stone, Feb 17, 2017.

1. msu7.62

msu7.62 Member

I just found this. One word......Awesome!

Stone likes this.
  2. Stone

Stone Member

MSU, thanks! Glad you're liking it so far. Much more to come, so please hang out with us.

I'm guessing MSU might mean Miss State U? I grew up just across the state line in Memphis. My mom was from Port Gibson and I had relatives in Vicksburg, so I spent a lot of time there as a kid. Great country.

And that's a fine looking old jeep in your avatar. Yours? I was a jeep owner as a kid, and so was my dad.

3. msu7.62

msu7.62 Member

You are correct on Mississippi State. I graduated from MSU in 09. I lived in that part of the state for about 10 years and you are correct it is beautiful. I'm on the MS. gulf coast now, totally different from N. MS.

As for the jeep picture, unfortunately it is not mine. I do drive a Jeep but that one is not it. I have had a few other jeeps in the past but my 04 wrangler is my daily driver and I have a 46 Willys in the form of a bare frame and an envelop with ID plates and a title. Ill build it one day.

Stone likes this.
  4. Stone

Stone Member

I'll take a bit of a tangent for a minute on this thread, but it's ok since my outdoor experiences in my jeep as a teen contributed much to convincing me to become a biologist/ecologist and do what I'm doing now where I'm doing it. In particular, it allowed me to engage in more outdoor activities and immerse myself in nature fishing, hunting, boating, hiking, etc.

This is the jeep that my dad and I built -- with the help of a mechanic friend -- out of two junkers plus a few new parts. IIRC the junkers were a year apart, and about '47 - 48'. The paint job was by yours truly using several cans of spray paint primer. :D

I drove it from age 15 to about 19. It got handed on to a family friend after that.

Pics from circa '66.

My jeep w canoe 01.jpg