IFAK: TRAUMA KIT, My Personal Kit I put together

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by GaryMc, Sep 26, 2016.

1. GaryMc

GaryMc Member

IFAK: TRAUMA KIT

OK, guys this is a trauma kit I put together geared to try to save someone's life until real help can either arrive or I can get someone to the hospital. It was specifically put together for major accidents such as auto, gunshots, and stabbings. It was last used the first week of August at a major auto accident in front of my house, four 17 year olds driving too fast went off the road, down an embankment, and into the woods right after school let out, one injured seriously requiring attention until EMTs could arrive, usually they are 10-15 minutes out. Personally I feel anyone who carries a gun should have some basic first aid knowledge and a trauma kit with them as well. This one stays in my car most of the time, is used multiple times per year unfortunately, usually at auto accidents. I am not a doctor, an EMT, nothing of the kind just have basic first aid skills so take this for what it's worth. Hope some real experts step up and critique it and tell me my shortcomings besides obviously training. This is meant to be portable for car, larger bag either attached or riding in it. I have 2 set up in the exact same manner so I know where everything is without having to think about it, both kits are exact duplicates. I will obtain more and better training after I retire next year.

Here we go, starts with a "Vanquest FATPack 4x6: First Aid Trauma Pack" pouch which I like as it is easy to organize and super easy to grab the handle and rip it open.

[​IMG]

Along with the Trauma Kit, I always keep a reflective vest, fire gloves, a personal first aid kit, a SAM Splint, and an ice pack in the car.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

On the outside are a Gerber Hinderer Rescue Knife & Tools and a Channelock Cable Cutter for clipping battery cables to prevent fires if necessary at accidents.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]