Long range rifles

Discussion in 'Knives, Gear, Guns And Other Tools' started by ManOfSteel, Feb 15, 2018.

1. ManOfSteel

ManOfSteel Member

You guys know how I get every time I find a new toy or hobby.

I need this to be a place of discussion, pics, tips, tricks, questions from noobs like myself, and DEFINITELY pics of game you’ve taken with them.

I’ll start..

I just ordered a brand new Tikka T3X CTR in .308 with a stainless barrel and receiver. I will be mounting my Leupold VX-R 4-12x50 with 30mm tube on it as soon as it arrives. Now I need to pick out scope rings, order my Blackhawk rifle sling adaptor, and get an Atlas bipod. I already have a stock bag/ammo carrier that I’ll be putting on it.

I have a couple questions for you long range studs. I had a Browning X-Bolt .300WM but the .300WM was just way overkill for what I do. I didn’t have any accuracy issues but I’m not a pro shooter. Is the whole barrel break-in thing a myth? What is your procedure with a new high power rifle? I need this thing to be perfect and last a long time.

Last edited: Feb 15, 2018
    Ballenxj, The Marsh Gorilla and Zeek like this.
  2. Strigidae

Strigidae Administrator Staff Member

Some say yes, some say no, id say do a break in just in case. There are a few of them on Snipershide.com i suspect. You may look into bryan litz on accurateshooter.com

Zeek and ManOfSteel like this.
  3. ny700

ny700 Member

Absolute myth in modern era high quality rifles

Simple fact is you are far more likely to damage or introduce ware through cleaning then you are shooting.

Swab the barrel to remove any packing debris or oils that are in there. Put a very light coat of oil downt the bore and swab it again and your done go shoot.

The barrels being produced are very good most are already lapped to some degree and you are gaining nothing through shoot clean shoot clean that you aren’t going to get just by shooting